Adventures in Caking- Watercolour Cake Painting

tomcake1

So I’m still very much learning… but I can still share with you some of the things I have learnt so far. This is a really cool cake technique that I have discovered, it involves simply mixing cake food colouring, icing sugar and water together and ‘painting’ it on a fondant covered cake. It’s definitely just a cheat’s way, and please don’t tell any serious cake decorators that I do it this way, but it works for me.

I won’t tell you how to do all the fondant-y stuff (see picture below for why), there are plenty of great YouTube clips out there to learn this from. Shout out to PrettyWittyCakes.com for their awesome tutorials.

tomcake3

Ok, seriously don’t be judging my fondant (lack of) skills. I have a lot to learn, but I’m pretty happy with this as a start.

Basically you just mix it, as I mentioned before, but you want it to be a very liquid sugar paste. Just add a few drops at a time until you get a nice texture that you can paint with. Don’t forget to add the colour. I used a warm gold and a hot pink, both Americolor brand. Then you just paint it on, no need to be neat, this will just add to the effect. If you are painting in layers like this cake, make sure you let the bottom layer dry completely first, otherwise it can mix and make some weird colours.

tomcake2

The white chocolate shards that are on top were super easy too. I just smeared white chocolate on baking paper, top with another layer of baking paper. Roll it up into a fairly loose cylinder, set in the fridge. Once it is set, unroll it and let it crack as you go. You want this to happen so that you get lovely big shards of white chocolate curls. Arrange them into a bit of a pyramid on top and gently push them into the fondant so that they stay put. Try to avoid handling them much though as the chocolate is so thin it melts very quickly.

Nothing left to do after this other than dazzle your friends with you amazing cake skills and bask in their compliments.

Leave a Reply

